Article Image Alt Text

Voting starts next week for March 5 primary election


Cove Leader-Press


Polls open Tuesday, Feb. 20 ahead of the March 5 primary election.

There are several events ahead of the election where voters can hear from and meet candidates.

On Saturday, Feb. 17, the Coryell County Republican Women are hosting a forum starting at 9:30 a.m., at Trinity Worship Center, located at 1802 MLK Jr. Dr. in Copperas Cove.

In attendance will be candidates for Coryell County Sheriff as well as Constable Precinct 1.

The Coryell County Republican Party is also hosting two debate night events for candidates running for Coryell County Sheriff and Coryell County Constable Precinct 1, as well as candidates vying for a U.S. House of Representatives seat for District 31.

The debates will be held on Monday, Feb. 19, at 6 p.m., at the Copperas Cove Public Library, and on Thursday, Feb. 22, at 6 p.m., at the Gatesville City Auditorium.

Those who have questions for the candidates are invited to submit them via email to to have questions reviewed by the debate committee.

Locally, there is a three-way race for the position of Coryell County Sheriff.

Incumbent Scott Williams is being opposed by Danni Suniga and John “JC” Buster.

In the race for Constable Precinct 1, incumbent Guy Beveridge is being opposed by Robert Taylor.

County offices with unopposed candidates include:

County Attorney – Brandon Belt

Tax Assessor-Collector, Justin K. Carothers

Commissioner Precinct 1, Kyle Matthews

Commissioner Precinct 3, Ryan Basham

Constable Precinct 2, Shawn Camp

Constable Precinct 3, Jimmy R. Daniel

Constable Precinct 4, Teddy Brock

The current county terms of office will end on Dec. 31, 2024 and the winners will take office on Jan. 1, 2025.

For all Coryell County races, the March 5 primary will decide those elections.

Shelby Slawson is the incumbent for Texas House of Representatives District 59, and she is running unopposed on the Republican party ticket. Hannah Bohm is running on the Democratic ticket for HD59.

In the race for U.S. House District 31, longtime incumbent Congressman John Carter is one of six candidates in the Republican party.

This year he faces William Abel (Copperas Cove), John Carnan Anderson (Round Rock), Abhiram Garapati (Cedar Park), Mack Latimer (Belton), and Mike Williams (Georgetown) in the primary.

In the Democratic race, Rick Von Pfeil (Taylor), Brian Walbridge (Leander), and Stuart Whitlow (Round Rock) are on the ballot.

The primary winners for those parties, as with the county offices, will face off in the November general election.

Polling dates and times are:

Tuesday, February 20 to Friday, February 23 - 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday, February 24 – 7 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Sunday, February 25 – Noon – 6 p.m.

Monday, February 26 to Friday, March 1 - 7 a.m. - 7 p.m.



Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207