Redistricting shifts county commissioner precinct lines for Copperas Cove voters

Primary Election filings continue through Dec. 13


Cove Leader-Press


The Coryell County Commissioners adopted a resolution last month to redistrict and redefine the Commissioners Precincts for Coryell County following workshops and a public hearing to discuss how to balance the county’s population after the 2020 Census. 

After the 2020 Census, Coryell County has a population of 75,090 (not including the inmates at the Texas Department of Criminal Justice prisons). 

Coryell County has four Commissioners and four precincts. Precinct 1 Commissioner is Kyle Matthews. Precinct 2 Commissioner is Daren Moore. Precinct 3 Commissioner is Ryan Basham. Precinct 4 Commissioner is Ray Ashby.

The Precinct 2 and Precinct 4 commissioner positions will be up for election in 2022.

The redistricting changes shift the total population in Precinct 1 from 21,364 to 19,221. In Precinct 2, the total population shifts from 16,611 to 18,651. In Precinct 3, the total population shifts from 19,338 to 18,534. The total population in Precinct 4 shifts from 17,777 to 19,284. 

The redistricting will become formally effective January 1, 2022 and will be used as the basis for conducting future elections. 

With the redistricting, the streets currently in Precinct 4 that will be moving to Precinct 2 include:

Brookview Drive

Chalk Street

Deorsam Drive

Edwards Street

Gilmore Street

Holly Street

Leonhard Street

Lynn Lane

Phyllis Drive

Randa Street

Valley Drive

Willowbrook Street

The streets currently in Precinct 1 that will be moving to Precinct 4 include:

Briscoe Court

Cactus Drive

Cedar Grove Drive

Cedar Grove Loop

Ewell Court 

Fairbanks Street

Hickory Circle 

Hogg Court

Janet Lane

Jester Court

Karen Sue Circle

Latern Circle 

Linda Lane

Locust Drive

Lubbock Drive

Maple Drive 

Mary Jane Circle 

Northern Dove Lane 

Oakridge Drive 

Rob Lane 

Ross Road 

Stagecoach Circle 

Stockdale Road 

Walnut Drive 

White Wing Circle 

There are 11 streets currently in Precinct 3 that are actually Coryell County addresses on Fort Hood. that will be moving to Precinct 2.

With these changes, residents who live on one of these streets will see a change in their elected Commissioner - not Justice of the Peace or Constable, who also have precincts. 

Commissioner Daren Moore announced during the Nov. 23, Commissioners Court meeting that he would not be seeking another term as Commissioner, leaving his seat up for grabs when his term ends in 2022. The new commissioner will take office in January 2023. 

The deadline for filing for the March 2022 Primary Election is December 13, 2021. 

Currently, the following have filed to run for office for the Republican Primary:

County Judge: Roger Miller (incumbent), Joey Acfalle 

County Court at Law Judge: John Lee

County Clerk: Jennifer Newton (incumbent)

County Treasurer: Randi McFarlin (incumbent)

Commissioner Precinct 2: Billy Vaden 

Commissioner Precinct 4: Ray Ashby (incumbent)

Wx`Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1: John Guinn (incumbent)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2: F.W. “Bill” Price (incumbent)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3: Jim Caldwell (incumbent)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4: Coy Latham (incumbent)

Also up for election in November 2022 are the positions of 440th District Judge and the District Clerk. As of press time, no one had filed to run in the Republican Primary Election for these two positions. Also as of press time, there were no filings for County offices for the Democratic Primary. 

For more information on candidate filing and the Primary Election, visit 

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207