Article Image Alt Text

Polls close at 7 p.m. for Early Voting


Cove Leader-Press 


The Copperas Cove Early Voting Center closes its doors at 7 p.m. on Friday, the last day of early voting ahead of Tuesday’s primary election. 

As of Wednesday, Feb. 28, a total of 2,907 ballots had been cast in Coryell County. 

On Tuesday, polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. countywide at the Copperas Cove Civic Center, Holy Family Catholic Church, Eastside Baptist Church in Copperas Cove, Turnersville Community Center, Evant City Hall, Flat Community Center, Oglesby Community Center, and Gatesville Civic Center.

There are two key county races which will be decided by Coryell County voters with the primary. There is a three-way race for the position of Coryell County Sheriff. Incumbent Scott Williams is being opposed by Danni Suniga and John “JC” Buster. 

In the race for Constable Precinct 1, incumbent Guy Beveridge is being opposed by Robert Taylor. 

County offices with unopposed candidates include:

County Attorney – Brandon Belt

Tax Assessor-Collector, Justin K. Carothers

Commissioner Precinct 1, Kyle Matthews

Commissioner Precinct 3, Ryan Basham

Constable Precinct 2, Shawn Camp

Constable Precinct 3, Jimmy R. Daniel

Constable Precinct 4, Teddy Brock

The current county terms of office will end on Dec. 31, 2024 and the winners will take office on Jan. 1, 2025.

For all Coryell County races, the March 5 primary will decide those elections. 

Shelby Slawson is the incumbent for Texas House of Representatives District 59, and she is running unopposed on the Republican party ticket. Hannah Bohm is running on the Democratic ticket for HD59.

In the race for U.S. House District 31, longtime incumbent Congressman John Carter is one of six candidates in the Republican party. 

This year he faces William Abel (Copperas Cove), John Carnan Anderson (Round Rock), Abhiram Garapati (Cedar Park), Mack Latimer (Belton), and Mike Williams (Georgetown) in the primary. 

In the Democratic race, Rick Von Pfeil (Taylor), Brian Walbridge (Leander), and Stuart Whitlow (Round Rock) are on the ballot. 

The primary winners for those parties, as with the county offices, will face off in the November general election. 

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207