Early voting wraps up Friday at 5 p.m.


Cove Leader-Press 


Early voting for the Nov. 5 general and special elections in Copperas Cove wraps up on Nov. 1. 

Polling locations for early voting include the Coryell County Justice Center, located at 210 S. 1st St. Copperas Cove, and the Gatesville Main Street Annex, 801 E Leon St. Gatesville. 

Polls are open until 5 p.m. on Friday.

Registered voters must bring an approved form of photo identification with them to the polls.

As of Thursday, a total of 1,866 ballots had been cast in Coryell County, with 924 in Copperas Cove, 905 in Gatesville, and 37 mail-in ballots. 

The elections include four positions on the Copperas Cove city council, three positions on the Copperas Cove Independent School District board of trustees, along with 10 state propositions. 

For Copperas Cove city council Place 3, incumbent Dan Yancey is being challenged for the position by Jayme Sigler and Dario Eubank. 

For Copperas Cove city council Place 4, incumbent Jay Manning is being challenged by Matthew Russell and Benjamin Beck. 

Dianne Campbell and Gary Kent are running for Place 5, currently occupied by Kirby Lack, who is term limited. 

Theresa Deans and Jack Smith are running for Place 7, which is a special election to fill the vacant position after the resignation of Charlie Youngs in September. 

In the CCISD board of trustees election, there is only one opposed race. 

Harry L. Byrd and Jeff Gorres are running to fill Place 5, currently occupied by Bob Weiss. Incumbents Joan Manning and Mike Wilburn are running unopposed. 

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207