Early voting starts Monday for March 1 primary

Cove Leader-Press 

Early voting for the March Primary Election starts Tuesday, Feb. 14 and runs through Feb. 25, with Election Day on March 1. 
This election features both the Republican Primary and the Democratic Primary and allows voters to narrow down the candidates from each party that will be featured on the General Election ballot in November. 
New for this election cycle are weekend voting opportunities, with polls being open both Saturday and Sunday during early voting.
Voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 14 through Friday, Feb. 18; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 19; 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 20; and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Feb. 22-25 (Tuesday through Friday.)
Early Voting will be held at the following locations: 
Copperas Cove Early Voting Center, at 508 B Cove Terrace in Copperas Cove 
Gatesville Annex, at 801 E. Leon St. in Gatesville. 
Voting on March 1 will take place between 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and voters in Coryell County can vote at any of the county polling locations, which can be found at https://www.coryellcountytax.com/#/elections. 
For Copperas Cove residents in Coryell County, this includes the Copperas Cove Civic Center, the Holy Family Catholic Church and Eastside Baptist Church. 
All Texas voters must have a valid form of photo ID: either a state driver’s license (issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety); a Texas election identification certificate (issued by DPS); a Texas personal identification card (issued by DPS); a Texas license to carry a handgun (issued by DPS); a U.S. military ID card with a personal photo; a U.S. citizenship certificate with a personal photo; or a U.S. passport.

The candidates in opposed races for the Republican Primary on the Coryell County ballot are as follows:

County Commissioner, Precinct 2
Billy Vaden 
Scott Weddle

County Commissioner, Precinct 4
Keith Taylor
Ray Ashby, Jr. (Incumbent)
Bradi Diaz

Coryell County Judge
Joey Acfalle
Jack Barcroft
Celia J. Sellers
Roger A. Miller (Incumbent)

State Senator, 
District 24
Raul Reyes
Pete Flores
Lamar Lewis 

U.S. Congressional 
District 31:
Mike Williams
Abhiram Garapati
John Carter (Incumbent)

Chad Prather
Danny Harrison
Rick Perry
Don Huffines
Greg Abbott (Incumbent)
Kandy Kaye Horn
Allen West
Paul Belew

Lieutenant Governor
Dan Patrick (Incumbent)
Aaron Sorrells
Daniel Miller
Trayce Bradford
Zach Vance
Todd M. Bullis

Attorney General
Louie Gohmert
George P. Bush
Ken Paxton (Incumbent)
Eva Guzman

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Mark V. Goloby
Glenn Hegar (Incumbent)

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Don W. Minton
Ben Armenta 
Rufus Lopez
Tim Westley 
Jon Spiers
Victor Avila
Dawn Buckingham 
Weston Martinez 

Commissioner of Agriculture
James White
Carey A. Counsil
Sid Miller (Incumbent)

Railroad Commissioner
Tom Slocum Jr. 
Dawayne Tipton
Wayne Christian (Incumbent)
Sarah Stogner
Marvin “Sarge” Summers”

Texas Supreme Court Justice, Place 9
Evan Young (Incumbent)
David J. Schenck

Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 5
Clint Morgan
Scott Walker (Incumbent)

Texas State Board of Education, District 14 Member 
Sue Melton-Malone (Incumbent)
Evelyn Brooks

The candidates in the Democratic Primary are: 

Rich Wakeland
Inocencio (Inno) Barrientez 
Joy Diaz
Michael Cooper
Beto O’Rourke 

Lieutenant Governor
Carla Brailey
Mike Collier 
Michelle Beckley 

Attorney General 
Mike Fields
Lee Merritt
S. “TBone” Raynor
Rochelle Mercedes Garza
Joe Jaworski

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Tim Mahoney
Angel Luis Vega
Janet T. Dudding

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Jay Kleberg
Michael Lange 
Sandragrace Martinez 
Jinny Suh

Commissioner of Agriculture
Ed Ireson 
Susan Hays

Railroad Commissioner 
Luke Warford

Texas Supreme Court Justice, Place 3 
Erin A. Nowell

Texas Supreme Court Justice, Place 5 
Amanda Reichek

Texas Supreme Court Justice, Place 9
Julia Maldonado 

Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 5
Dana Huffman 

Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 6
Robert Johnson

State Board of Education, District 14
Tracy Fisher

State Senator, District 24
Kathy Jones-Hospod
Jeremy Kohlwes

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 4
Beth Payan 
Rosa Lopez Theofanis
Paula Knippa

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207