Early voting now under way for Nov. 5 elections

Cove Leader-Press 

Early voting for the Nov. 5 general and special elections started on Monday, Oct. 21 and will continue through Friday, Nov. 1. 

During the first day of early voting, a total of 215 had cast ballots in Coryell County, 127 in Copperas Cove, 85 in Gatesville, with the remaining three being mail-in ballots. 
The elections include four positions on the Copperas Cove city council, one position on the Copperas Cove Independent School District board of trustees, along with 10 state propositions. 
Polling locations for early voting include the Coryell County Justice Center, located at 210 S. 1st St. Copperas Cove, and the Gatesville Main Street Annex, 801 E Leon St. Gatesville. 
Polls are open Tuesday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m., Wednesday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.; Monday, Oct. 28 from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.; Tuesday, Oct. 29 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.; and Oct. 30 through Nov. 1 from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.  
Registered voters must bring an approved form of photo identification with them to the polls.
For Copperas Cove city council Place 3, incumbent Dan Yancey is being challenged for the position by Jayme Sigler and Dario Eubank. 
For Copperas Cove city council Place 4, incumbent Jay Manning is being challenged by Matthew Russell and Benjamin Beck. 
Dianne Campbell and Gary Kent are running for Place 5, currently occupied by Kirby Lack, who is term limited. 
Theresa Deans and Jack Smith are running for Place 7, which is a special election to fill the vacant position after the resignation of Charlie Youngs in September. 
In the CCISD board of trustees election, there is only one opposed race for three positions. 
Harry L. Byrd and Jeff Gorres are running to fill Place 5, currently occupied by Bob Weiss.

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207