Diaz wins election for Copperas Cove mayor


Cove Leader-Press


By a margin of 309 votes, Bradi Diaz has been elected mayor of Copperas Cove – again.

Saturday’s special election saw a total of 216 votes cast on election day, with 539 votes cast during the early voting period.

This is not Diaz’ first go round as Copperas Cove’s mayor, having previously held that office from 2004 to 2006.

Diaz received 465 votes, easily defeating her three fellow candidates and garnering 61.91 percent of the votes.

“I am so thankful for all those who supported me and I am excited to get to work,” Diaz said on Saturday evening.

Other voting results are as follows: Ron Nelson received 156 votes, or 20.77 percent; Joey Acfalle received 115 votes, or 15.31 percent; and Brandi Weiand received 15 votes, or 2 percent.

There were 4 undervotes in this election, meaning those four cast a ballot yet selected no candidate.

Diaz takes the seat of the late Frank Seffrood, who passed away in December, days after winning a runoff election for a second mayoral term.


Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207