Article Image Alt Text

Copperas Cove police gains three new officers

Cove Leader-Press 

Twenty-three cadets graduated from the Central Texas College Police Academy last Friday after completing the 22-week, 720-hour Basic Peace Officer Course that began in June. 
The cadets were part of the Delta 2023 class and represented 10 law enforcement agencies across Central Texas.
Among them were several new officers for the Copperas Cove Police Department, who were sworn in by Chief of Police Eddie Wilson immediately after the graduation ceremony.
 Travis H. Daniels, Nicholas S. Karcher, and Garrison T. Magee are now officer trainees. 
Likewise, Coryell County gained two new deputies, with Michael W. Ratterman and Herbert A. Swank Jr. officially joining the ranks in Gatesville. 
Lt. Clifton Osborne, CTC’s program coordinator, is proud to graduate another cohort of cadets who are ready to serve the community.
“The dedication and commitment of our law enforcement officers directly impact quality of life for local citizens,” Osborne said. “It’s always an honor for CTC to play a role in preparing cadets for the huge responsibility they will undertake in serving their communities.”
Several cadets earned recognition during the ceremony for their achievements in the academy. 
The Top Gear award for best driving competency went to Herbert Swank Jr. with the Coryell County Sheriff’s Office, who was also elected class president by his peers. Caden Goodman with the Brownwood Police Department won the Top Gun award for firearms proficiency. He also earned the Honor Graduate award for achieving the highest academic average – 96.32. 
The cadets selected Officer John Metcalf from the Killeen Police Department as the winner of the Best Instructor award.
Graduates of the BPOC Delta 2023 class included Christian Acosta (independent); Nicolette D. Campos (Burnet County Sheriff’s Office); Colin A. Christie Jr. (Texas A&M University-Central Texas Police Department); Jonathan P. Costanzo (Brownwood Police Department); Lawrence P. Costanzo (Brownwood Police Department); Travis H. Daniels (Copperas Cove Police Department); Ryan J. Flake (Taylor Police Department); Caden J. Goodman (Brownwood Police Department); Terrance R. Hayse (Nolanville Police Department); Justin A. Hicks (Brownwood Police Department); Nicholas S. Karcher (Copperas Cove Police Department); Vandell W. Langham (Llano County Sheriff’s Office); Garrison T. Magee (Copperas Cove Police Department); Jamie D. Martin (Valley Mills Police Department); Isaiah B. Pettiford (independent); Michael W. Ratterman (Coryell County Sheriff’s Office); Kyle P. Ray (Taylor Police Department); Bricen J. Roberson (Milam County Sheriff’s Office); Dayon Si’ufanua (independent); Herbert A. Swank Jr. (Coryell County Sheriff’s Office); Kevin P. Taunton Jr. (independent); Joshua L. Turner (Burnet County Sheriff’s Office); and Cohen W. Ward (independent).
The CTC Police Academy Basic Peace Officer Course prepares students for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement licensing exam. Upon successful completion of the licensing exam, cadets are eligible to become peace officers in Texas.
For more information, please visit

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207