Two Lady Dawgs named to TSWA 6A All-State Softball Team


Cove Leader-Press


The Texas Sports Writers Association recently released the All-State Softball Team for the 2021 season.

Cove’s Larisa Perez and Meagan Hunt highlighted 10 area players named to the list. 

Perez was named to the 6A Third Team as a third baseman while Hunt received an Honorable Mention as a utility player.

Belton’s Bethany Sherwood and Paige Nunes also received Honorable Mention while Bryan notched three names on the list including Jessica Adams, who was named a First Team Pitcher and her sister Jacque Adams, who was named a Second Team Catcher and Alexis Rodriguez received an Honorable Mention.

Harker Heights also added three players with catcher Rozalyn Simmons, outfielder Evan Fuller and outfielder Clarissa Gutierrez all receiving Honorable Mention.

The complete list of players that were selected by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state are shown below:





Amy Vidal-Bush,
Deer Park


Hannah Benavides, Deer Park



Pitcher: Hannah Benavides, Deer Park, Jessica Adams, Bryan, Emily Ayala, Judson

Catcher: Victoria Valdez, Alvin

First base: Grace Janik, Fort Bend Ridge Point

Second base: Kayla Falterman, The Woodlands

Shortstop: Madison McClarity, Sachse

Third base: Lauren Garcia, El Paso Montwood

Outfield: Keely Williams, Judson, Emma Craver, Lake Travis, Logan Halleman, Flower Mound

Utility: Kaylin Jackson, Spring

DP/Flex: Addison Lehew, Deer Park



Pitcher: Madison Applebe, Deer Park, Landrie Harris, Flower Mound, Ainsley Pemberton, Rockwall

Catcher: Jacque Adams, Bryan

First base: Kaylynne Ruiz, Eagle Pass

Second base: Mimi Thornton, Judson

Shortstop: Katie Lott, Cypress Woods

Third base: Destiny Rodriguez, Judson

Outfield: Iliana Saucedo, Harlingen South, Carter Smith, Rockwall, Alannah Leach, The Woodlands

Utility: Kassidy Chance, Mansfield Lake Ridge

DP/Flex: Jordan Jones, The Woodlands



Pitcher: Zoey Cabeza De Baca, El Paso Montwood, Alexis Telford, Allen, Madison Azua, Round Rock

Catcher: Elizabeth Moffitt, Prosper

First base: Elizabeth Schaefer, Rockwall

Second base: Annabel Segoviano, Edinburg North

Shortstop: Reagan Jones, Alvin

Third base: Larisa Perez, Copperas Cove

Outfield: Abriana Garcia, Cypress Lakes, Ariel Gomez, College Park, Sydney Saenz, El Paso Americas

Utility: Saleyna Daniel, Stratford



Pitcher: Katie Noble, Hays, Mikayla Garza, Atascocita, Mia Perez, El Paso Americas, Kylie Ruiz, Harlingen South

Catcher: Rozalyn Simmons, Harker Heights, Paige Nunes, Belton, Kaitlyn Corn, College Park, Kiara Wiedenhaupt, The Woodlands, Erin Perez, Deer Park

First base: Bethany Sherwood, Belton, Roni Harrison, Alvin, Katie Cimusz, Atascocita, Sydney Lewis, Prosper

Second base: Victoria Perez, El Paso Montwood, Alyssa Ledesma, Harlingen South

Shortstop: Haleigh Carter, Shadow Creek, Lauryn Ramos, Judson, Kaylee Cavazos, San Marcos, Malyn Simmons, Fort Bend Ridge Point, Leighann Goode, O’Connor

Third base: Jillian Jackson, Lake Travis, Erin Krause, Cypress Woods, Haidyn Hardcastle, Deer Park, Gabby Coffey, Prosper

Outfield: Tia Warsop, Mansfield Lake Ridge, Kadidi Pickering, Atascocita, Evan Fuller, Harker Heights, Gabby Leach, The Woodlands, Kayden Henry, Dickinson, Ava Wallace, Rockwall, Clarissa Gutierrez, Harker Heights, Tabby Bailey, Deer Park, Gabriella Davila, Pearland, Chloe Foster, Alvin, Alexis Rodriguez, Bryan

Utility: Kirstin Ferguson, Cypress Woods, Meagan Hunt, Copperas Cove, Krislyn Corral, Socorro

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207