Seven Lady Dawgs named to 8-6A All-District list

Cove Leader-Press

The Copperas Cove Lady Dawgs put together a solid season, finishing 26-9 overall and 10-4 in District 8-6A play, culminating in a near miss in their playoff matchup against DeSoto.
Seven Lady Dawgs were rewarded for their efforts with a selection to the 8-6A All-District team by the coaches of the district.
Earning the only superlative was senior forward Erica Powell. She was named Defensive Player of the Year.
Junior guard Madison Griffon was named to the First Team as was sophomore post Kaysha McCloud.
Earning a spot on the Second Team were sophomore guard Madisen Honea and junior guard Jayda Carter.
Receiving Honorable Mention were senior guard Mariyah Reynolds and sophomore forward Leah Powell.
Four Lady Dawgs were also named to the Academic All-District list. Senior Destiny Miller joins Reynolds, L. Powell, and Honea on the list.
Ellison senior Cielo McClain was named District 8-6A Most Valuable Player while Midway senior JaNaiya Davis was named Offensive Player of the Year.
The Newcomer of the Year honors were split by Midway sophomore Shamaryah Duncan and Ellison sophomore Alina Simon.
Ellison head coach Sherry McKinnon was named 8-6A Coach of the Year.
Joining Griffon and McCloud on the First Team were senior Dajia Planas (Ellison), junior Marliah Johnson (Ellison), senior Caleyah Burrell (Midway), sophomore Reese Rhodes (Midway), senior Cayde Nelms (SA Central), junior Parris Parmer (SA Central), senior Charlene Shepherd (Shoemaker, senior Keilee Burke (Belton), senior Manesha Knox (Killeen) and Celisie Bobbitt (Harker Heights).
Joining Honea and Carter on the Second Team were Sydney Brock (Sr - Ellison), Amani Bradshaw (Jr - Ellison), Madison Burns (Sr - Midway), Keziah Bachert (Jr - Midway), Morgan Walker (Jr - SA Central), LaTavia Dosson (Sr - SA Central), Chyra Thompson (So - Shoemaker), Emi’Jah Spencer (So - Shoemaker), Natasha Blizzard (Jr - Belton), Elisa Priddy (Jr - Belton), Cierra Penn (Jr - Killeen), Meleanna Williams (Jr - Killeen), Destiny Pemberton (So - Harker Heights and Devanny Wall (Sr - Harker Heights).
Joining Reynolds and L. Powell on the Honorable Mention list were Aujunnae Smith (Sr -Ellison), Shauntia Landrum (Sr - Ellison), Michala Pullen-Monroe (So - Midway), J’Lynn Gus (So - Midway), Victoria Lopez (Jr - SA Central), Anjelina Humphreys (Fr - SA Central), Kaleiyah Davis (Sr - Shoemaker), Alexa Valasquez (Jr - Shoemaker), Nia Williams (Jr - Belton), Presleigh York (Jr - Belton), Kayla DuPont ( Sr - Killeen), Alia Vines (Sr - Killeen) Kiara Young (Sr - Harker Heights) and Brielle Dorsey (So - Harker Heights).

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207