Article Image Alt TextArticle Image Alt Text

Banquet celebrates Copperas Cove football players


Cove Leader-Press


Copperas Cove High School celebrated all of its football players with their annual Dawg Football Banquet 2022.

The Civic Center was packed as students, families, and staff celebrated the end of the football season. Food was served starting at 6:30 with the presentation beginning at 7:30.

CCISD Assistant Athletic Director and Head Football Coach Tony Johnson said that he was very proud of all of the players.

“I love our kids. We have great kids,” said Coach Johnson. “We had a great senior class. We didn’t win as many games as we would have liked but we won more than they did a year ago. We had more yards received, we played better defense and better special teams. Schematically, we did much better. We’re always trying to improve.”

Coach Johnson said that he was proud that the students gained brotherhood and discipline. He said that he was proud of their first win, against Georgetown East View.

“We saw a lot of positives on the field this year that leads us to believe that we’re moving in the right direction,” said Coach Johnson.

He also considered the banquet a success as they were able to sell 100 more tickets than they sold last year.

Throughout the banquet, various awards and certificates were presented.

Certificates were given to every member of the Freshman, Junior Varsity, and Varsity teams. They also honored those who received Academic All State and those who had been recognized at All District.

Academic All District Honors went to Dayne Holden, Blaine Butler, Kevin Pontius, Joseph Figueroa, Jan Erdal, Jacob Steverding, and Trey Fossett.

All District Honors went to Demetrius Pearce (Punter), Ezekiel Kaleopa Lynn (Fullback), Marc Rodeitis (Center), Michael Uini (Tackle), Dominique Wyche (Guard), Trishstin Glass (Reciever), Coffa Tulensru (Outside Linebacker), Kevin Pontious (Inside Linebacker), Malik Cuthbert (Returner), Braxton Ramsey (Defensive Tackle), Mason Jobe (Defensive End), JaCoby Frazier (Inside Linebacker), Anthony Jackson (Outside Linebacker), Xavier Taclibon (Safety), Daniel Izquierdo (Receiver), Demetrius Pearce (Receiver), and Craig Brown (Running Back).

The most exciting part for the students was definitely the superlative awards. 

The Dawg Collar award went to Chris Garcia.

The Defensive MVP award went to Xavier Taclibon and Kevin Pontious.

The Offensive MVP award went to Trishstin Glass and Demetrius Pearce.

The Special Teams MVP award went to Coffa Tulensru.

The John Roland Character Award went to Dayne Holden.

The Robert Griffin III MVP award went to Kevin Pontius.

Kevin Pontius, who also celebrated his 18th birthday Tuesday, received several awards at the Dawg Football Banquet. He said that earning the Robert Griffin III MVP award was unexpected.

“I obviously feel happy, but it’s bittersweet because the season’s over,” said Pontius.

Pontius did say that he really enjoyed this year’s football season.

“This year was probably the most fun I’ve ever had,” said Pontius.

Coach Johnson said that the banquet is a great way for the students to end their season, especially the seniors who symbolically blew out a candle at the end of the banquet.

“They will always be remembered for their great Bulldawg spirit,” said Coach Johnson.

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207