10 Dawgs named to All-District list

Cove Leader-Press
After one of the best seasons in Bulldawg baseball history with a 17-12 season record and first-ever playoff victory, 10 members of the squad were recognized for their hard work by the coaches of District 12-6A.
Topping the list were seniors Tim Bechtold and Terrance Chamberlin along with sophomore Tyler Ingram who were named to the 2016 All-District First Team.
Bechtold, who led the team in batting average for the year with a .430 for players with at least 10 at-bats, had a team-best 63.39 quality-at-bat (QAB) percentage and had a .981 fielding percentage, was selected as a First Team centerfielder. He had just one error and 50 putouts.
Chamberlin was selected to the First Team as a utility player. He finished with a second-best .386 batting average and a fourth-best 48.48 QAB percentage. Chamberin played several positions for the Dawgs and finished with a .841 fielding percentage.
Ingram finished third on the team in batting average with a .365 as the designated hitter and had a 45.74 QAB percentage. Ingram was also 1-1 on the mound for the Dawgs with a 3.907 earned run average.
Seniors Josh Carbajal (pitcher), Michael Hays (third base), Jeremi Hawkins (second base), Neeko Kirk (first base), and Brandon Williams (left field) were named to the Second Team.
Carbajal played pitcher and shortstop for the Dawgs. He was the go-to pitcher for head coach Dusty Brittain with teamhigh eight starts and 47 innings pitched. He finished the season with a 3-5 record and a fourthbest 2.979 ERA. He carried a .267 batting average and a second-best QAB at 59.05 percent at the plate.
Hays had a fourth-best .317 batting average and tied Bechtold with a team-high 10 two-out RBIs. Hays had an .821 fielding percentage playing the hot corner and was 3-2 on the mound with a 8.674 ERA.
Hawkins had a fifth-best 55.77 QAB percentage and carried a .280 batting average. He also had a .872 fielding percentage and turned a second-best eight double plays as a second baseman.
The lefty Kirk also had the best record from the mound at 3-1 and the second-best ERA at 1.652. He was also a perfect 1.000 in fielding percentage with no errors and 101 putouts at first base. He led in double plays with 12 and has a sixth-best .301 batting average.
Williams had a 54.55 QAB percentage and a .297 batting average. He also had a .933 fielding percentage as a left fielder.
Sophomore Jaylen Smith and freshman Colby Jost received honorable mention as pitchers.
Smith had a 3-2 record as a starter for the Dawgs and carried a third-best 2.305 ERA and the second-best WHIP (walks per innings pitched) with 1.207.
Last but certainly not least, Jost led the team in ERA with 1.479 and WHIP with 1.099 and finished with a 1-0 record with one save.
Harker Heights junior Daniel Cole and senior Tyler Torres split the Most Valuable Player honors while Ellison’s Edward Eakin was voted Newcomer of the Year.
Also making the First Team were Belton’s Tanner Frick (pitcher), Cameron Whitman (pitcher), Shane Stafford (pitcher) and Colin Mask (catcher); Midway’s Nathan Gonzales (pitcher) Wade Sivess (first base), Mathews Miles (shortstop) and outfielders Steiler Harris and Bryce Johnigan; Harker Heights’ Kyle Skelton (second base) and Seth Dean (third base); and Shoemaker’s Jose Casillas (oufield).
Filling out the Second Team were Ellison’s Garet Douglas (pitcher) and Bret Pagel (shortstop); Belton’s Reese Hohertz (first base), Brandon Rudy (second base), Miguel Quinones (shortstop), Hobey Hiland (third base) Breck Potvin (outfield) and Tyler Kastner (outfield); Shoemaker’s Burt Cruz (utility) and Jose Hernandez (outfield); Harker Heights’ Jacob Mitchell (first base) and Ryan Freitag (outfield); Midway’s Chris Olivas (catcher); and Killeen’s Jequell Johnson (outfield).


Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207