CCLP/DAVID J HARDIN - Fairview/Miss Jewell Students watch as Principal Leah Miller cuts the ribbon opening the new “Buddy Bench” on the campus Friday afternoon
By DAVID J. HARDIN
Cove Leader-Press
 
The children were smiling at Fairview/Miss Jewell Elementary School on Friday as they witnessed the unveiling of a Buddy Bench in the back of the school.
 
CCLP/PAMELA GRANT -Michael Ahart and Patrick Richardson load boxes of donated canned goods. The canned goods were donated by the First Presbyterian Church and Cub Scout Pack 257 for the Souper Bowl to be donated to the Copperas Cove Soup Kitchen.
By PAMELA GRANT
Cove Leader-Press
 
CCLP/LYNETTE SOWELL Families took to the lanes on Saturday for Souper Bowl of Caring to raise funds and collect food for My Brother’s House.
By LYNETTE SOWELL
Cove Leader-Press
 
Twenty-two of the 24 lanes at Hallmark Lanes in Killeen were taken up by teams having a friendly competition for a cause.
 
CCLP/DAVID J HARDIN - Fairview/Miss Jewell Students watch as Principal Leah Miller cuts the ribbon opening the new “Buddy Bench” on the campus Friday afternoon
CCLP/PAMELA GRANT -Michael Ahart and Patrick Richardson load boxes of donated canned goods. The canned goods were donated by the First Presbyterian Church and Cub Scout Pack 257 for the Souper Bowl to be donated to the Copperas Cove Soup Kitchen.
CCLP/LYNETTE SOWELL Families took to the lanes on Saturday for Souper Bowl of Caring to raise funds and collect food for My Brother’s House.

Exchange Club meeting

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday 52 times .
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, December 16, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, December 23, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, December 30, 2015 - 06:30
Wednesday, January 6, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, January 13, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, January 20, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, February 10, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, February 24, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, March 16, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, March 23, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, April 6, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, May 11, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, June 1, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, June 15, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, June 29, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, July 6, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, July 20, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, August 24, 2016 - 06:30
Wednesday, August 31, 2016 - 06:30

Exchange Club meeting, Wednesday mornings from 6:30-7:30 a.m. at Lil’ Tex

 

Hamilton annual Holiday Market set for November

Date: 
Saturday, November 14, 2015 - 09:00 to 16:00

The Seventh Annual Holiday Market, sponsored by the Pottsville Extension Education Club, is set for Nov. 14 from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. at Hamilton’s Fair Park pavilions.

This event will include arts and crafts booths, ladies’ fashions and accessories, yard art, stained glass, oil paintings, quilts, a book sale, a Kids Korner for underage visitors, a salsa cookoff judging and wine tasting.

This fundraiser is designed to raise monies totally dedicated to scholarships for deserving applicants.

CASA seeking volunteers

Date: 
Repeats every month on the 1 of September, October, November, December until Fri Jan 01 2016 .
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 (All day)
Thursday, October 1, 2015 (All day)
Sunday, November 1, 2015 (All day)
Tuesday, December 1, 2015 (All day)

The Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Bell and Coryell Counties is seeking volunteers. CASA volunteers not only provide the judges and others in the courts with detailed information needed to make the best decisions for the futures of the communities’ most vulnerable children, they have a positive impact on the children’s everyday life, helping to build trust and hope. For that reason, CASA of Bell and Coryell counties is dedicated to facilitating continuous growth to better meet the needs of vulnerable children in these counties. For more information call 254-774-1881.

CTCOG to present Medicare 2015

Date: 
Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 09:00 to 12:00

Welcome to Medicare 2015, presented by the Central Texas Council of Governments, the Area Agency on Aging of Central Texas and the Central Texas Aging and Disability Resource Center, is planned for Sept. 10 from 9 a.m. until noon at the Central Texas Council of Governments Conference Room D9, located at 2180 North Main Street in Belton.

This event will offer an opportunity for Central Texans to learn about Social Security benefits, Medicare benefits and Healthcare choices.

This function is free to the public, but seating is limited and reservations are required.

Ladies Auxiliary offers nursing scholarship

Date: 
Monday, May 16, 2016 - 17:00

The Ladies Auxiliary to VFW Post 8577 is announcing participation in the Nursing Scholarship Program for the Department of Texas Ladies Auxiliary to the VFW.

This year, the State of Texas will give out three scholarships. First place will be $2,000. Second place will be $1,500 and third place will be $1,000.

Applicants must submit a double spaced typewritten 300 word essay on “Why a Nursing Career?” which must be received at the Department of Texas Ladies Auxiliary no later than May 16, 2016.

Holiday Bazaar seeking vendors for event

Date: 
Saturday, November 14, 2015 - 09:00 to Sunday, November 15, 2015 - 17:00

The 34th Annual Fort Hood Spouses’ Club Holiday Bazaar is set for Nov. 14 from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. and Nov. 15 from noon until 5 p.m. at the Killeen Civic and Conference Center, located at 3601 South W.S. Young Drive in Killeen.

Spaces for vendors are limited, so those wishing to participate as vendors should reserve spaces now.

Over 100 arts and crafts vendors, food and door prizes will be included at this occasion, and professional pictures with Santa will be taken on Saturday only from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m. 

Housing Authority Board accepting applications

Date: 
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 17:00

The City of Copperas Cove is accepting applications through Sept. 22 to fill positions on the Housing Authority Board. The purpose of the City Council Appointed Advisory Body is to ensure proper management of federal funds as well as approve and adopt all policies and legal documents of the Housing Authority.

Applications are available at 914 South Main Street, Suite C, or on the city website, www.copperascovetx.gov under “Online Resources,” then “Forms and Applications.”

Meet the Candidates hosted by local AARP

Date: 
Monday, September 14, 2015 - 12:30

Copperas Cove Chapter 1359 of AARP will host a “Meet the Candidates” of local citizens running for city council on Sept. 14 at 12:30 p.m. at Grace United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall, located at 101 West Avenue F in Copperas Cove.

All candidates have agreed to participate. After introductions, light refreshments will be served and the candidates will be available to answer any questions. The public is encouraged to attend.

Cooking program to be held in Gatesville

Date: 
Tuesday, September 15, 2015 - 17:30 to 19:30

The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Coryell County will sponsor a new cooking school program, “Friends, Food & Fun,” on Sept. 15 from 5:30 until 7:30 p.m. at the Gatesville Civic Center.

The program will feature preparation of three take-home freezer entrees ready to cook and eat. The purpose is to promote more family mealtime, save time and money and teach individuals the basics in packaging and freezing. Each entrée prepared will feed a family of six. The session will also cover modifications for special diets, especially diabetes.

Pages

Copperas Cove Leader Press

2210 U.S. 190
Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Phone:(254) 547-4207